Problem With Event Handling in Mediator.

kommisettynagaraju

04 Dec, 2012 07:34 PM

Hi,
I am new to RL .I have a problem which may be strange for newbi's like me. in my project i am dispatching an event from model . and i'm handling it in mediator.problem is most of the times the event is not handled but some times it is handling. in the event handler i wrote a trace in order to check whether the event is handling correctly... but it is not handled all the times. But when i try to map a command with the same event using commanMap.mapEvent().. the respective command is getting called.. i am vexed . please help me..Thanks in advance.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Ondina D.F. on 05 Dec, 2012 08:52 AM

Hello,

Without seeing the code, my guess is that the View mediated by the Mediator in question gets added and removed to/from stage repeatedly (changing states, transitions, re-parenting), thus the mediator gets removed and destroyed as well, and the event from the model is dispatched before the mappings occur.
    That could explain why the mediator can’t always hear the event from model. Anyway, it sounds like some kind of race condition.
    Please provide more details about your use case and some code :)
    for the mappings for this Mediator in your context, how you add the listener for the event and what else is happening inside Mediator’s onRegister(), how are you dispatching the event from the model and when, and if the custom event is overriding clone(). How are you adding /removing the view?

Ondina

2. 2 Posted by kommisettynagar... on 05 Dec, 2012 07:30 PM

Hi Ondina,
    Thanks for the quick reply . i don have any states in my project. i am attaching pieces of my code here..... please have a look .

Thank You
    Nagaraju.K

3. Support Staff 3 Posted by Ondina D.F. on 05 Dec, 2012 10:41 PM

Hi Nagaraju,

You're welcome.
    Somehow the event from your Model gets fired before the mediator is able to listen for it.