Create parent object that creates child objects using commands

Matt

29 Aug, 2012 08:34 AM

I'm completely new to RL and am in the process of building a fairly large, UI based application.

In the app there is a menu bar, and when the current selection changes CreateSceneViewCommand is used to create a SceneView.

Within the SceneView display object I want to nest child objects that have their own commands and mediators. How should I go about this?

Should I dispatch events from the SceneViewMediator that the context picks up and then creates the child objects? If so then how do I add the child objects to the correct SceneView parent object? Should I dispatch the events with a reference to the parent container?

... or in CreateSceneViewCommand should I issue more commands that creates the child objects and wraps them in some sort of SceneView parent object?

Basically I want a nice way of grouping views within a SceneView... but am struggling to understand the best procedure for achieving this.

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Ondina D.F. on 29 Aug, 2012 09:09 AM

Hi Matt,
    The recommended practice is to avoid working on Views in Commands, if possible. Commands are usually responsible for application logic, application’s behaviour and they act upon Models and Services, usually in response to user interactions with the application.
    View logic (adding/removing sub-views, components) should happen in the View.

Though, there might be situations where using Commands to manage Views can not be avoided.

A very simple scenario: if a View (SceneView) needs to add some subviews in response to user interactions (selectedIndex changes) happening in another View (NavigationView containing a List), then the flow would be something like this:

• NavigatorView dispatches a custom event within the handler function for the list

• NavigatorMediator redispatches it