Best practice for receiving non Robotlegs events and dispatching them to the Robotlegs event bus ?

andre

10 Jan, 2012 05:24 PM

Hi,

I am new to Robotlegs (recent convert from Swiz).

I have events coming from a non Robotlegs flex project actionscript (non visual) class that I need to listen for and re-dispatch on the Robotlegs event bus.

1. What is the best place to inject/instantiate my non-RL event listener class into the RL context ?

2. Should I do this as a Relayer/Delegate or directly in a Command class ?

Thanks !

1. 1 Posted by Jos on 10 Jan, 2012 05:33 PM

I'd think a Model or Service, which is setup to receive these events, and then rebroadcast them would be the way to go. You can do any transformations on the incoming events in the Service, to make sure that they are then "appropriate" for the RL context/project. In this way, even if your "old" project changes, you only have to edit the Service class - the rest of your RL app should be ignorant of the non-RL events/bits.

My 2 cents.

Good luck!
    Jos

2. 2 Posted by andre on 10 Jan, 2012 05:42 PM

Thanks, Jos.

But if I have a model which extends Actor and is canonically injected into the RL context, would I have to instantiate the non RL class with New Class() or is there a mechanism to inject the non RL class and still have it successfully communicate its events to a listener on a RL class ?

3. 3 Posted by Jos on 10 Jan, 2012 06:34 PM

Hard to say without knowing more about what your "New Class" is doing. If it can be instanced simply inside the RL class, then i'd do that. I don't think it should be injected anywhere, as its not part of the RL app proper - it, and the Service, are the bridge items between the old and new apps. Or, that is how i'm seeing it. Which might be totally non-sensical wrt your applications architecture! :)

4. 4 Posted by andre on 10 Jan, 2012 07:49 PM

Thanks, Jos, I'm almost there.