A mediator cannot listen to an event dispatched by another mediator.

edeventner

03 Oct, 2011 08:11 AM

How do I make my event that is dispatched by a mediator being listened to another mediator? I cannot find the solution in this site because it only talks about models and services event listening/dispatching, no mediator to mediators.

Or is there another way for this? Here's what I want to achieve:
When a timer is done (that is part of my mediator), I want to load a window that is going to load a module. Now that the timer is done, I cannot load my window component because it would need another mediator to communicate to this window component. So what I did is, I dispatched a custom event when the timer is done and also I created a mediator for the window component then have this new mediator listen to the dispatched custom event. Yet, cannot achieve listening to this event.

Sorry as I am new to Robotlegs. Thanks

1. 1 Posted by krasimir on 03 Oct, 2011 08:18 AM

Hello,

Robotlegs has a really nice eventDispatcher which is available in every mediator. For example in your first Mediator:
    eventDispatcher.dispatch(new YourCustomEvent(YourCustomEvent.EVENT))

in your second Mediator:
    eventDispatcher.addEventListener(YourCustomEvent.EVENT, handler)

I strongly recommend to read more about eventMap.

2. 2 Posted by edeventner on 03 Oct, 2011 08:25 AM

@krasimir, thanks for the quick reply. I was about to say "gotcha!" reading your solution but when I tried it, doesn't work as well.

Here's my code in my first mediator:
    dispatch(new LoginEvent(LoginEvent.STARTUP));

second mediator:
    eventMap.mapListener(eventDispatcher, LoginEvent.STARTUP, loadLoginModule);

3. 3 Posted by krasimir on 03 Oct, 2011 08:29 AM

Hm ... strange. There are several reasons to not work:
    1. You missed to map your mediator to your view (which means that the onRegister method is never called) by using mediatorMap.